Fish Story from Yoshihiro Nakamura Wins Top Prize at NIFFF 2009

Fish Story Yoshihiro Nakamura NIFFF 2009

Fish Story from Yoshihiro Nakamura wins the prestigious H.R. Giger Award “Narcisse” for best feature film and overall top prize at the 9th Neuchatel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF; It also picked up the Denis-de-Rougemont Youth Award. Benny Chan’s Connected picked up this years audience award. Best Asian Movie Award goes to Tsutomu Hanabusa’s, The Handsome Suit. Antichrist won the Titra Film Award.

Other winners include Left Bank winning the Silver Melies and Mad Movies Award. Infestation won a special mention.

Full Press Release after the link bump!

More than 22,000 spectators attended the 9th edition of the NIFFF

Once again, the Neuchatel International Fantastic Film Festival has given a lot of intense film emotions by offering to an audience bigger than ever before a quality program and a range of prestigious guests. The 2009 edition closes today on a remarkably positive note.

Bong Joon-ho, Aoyama Shinji, Joko Anwar, Ole Bornedal, Antti-Jussi Annila, Pieter Van Hees: having stayed true to its tradition, the NIFFF has been the privileged meeting point of international genre cinema big names during six days. More than 22,000 festival-goers were present and celebrated the fantastic genre by taking over the Apollo cinema, the “Theatre du Passage” and the Open Air in order to attend the screenings, but also the public conferences and meetings. With this new record of spectators, the Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival confirms, before its tenth edition, that it is more than ever an event that no one can ignore in the field of genre cinema.




Bong Joon-ho (director, South Korea), Joko Anwar (director, Indonesia), Gerard Soeteman (screen-writer, Denmark), Fançois Angelier (journalist, France), Erika Stucky (singer and performer, Switzerland/USA) give the following award:

The H.R. Giger Award “Narcisse” for best feature film to:

FISH STORY by Yoshihiro Nakamura, Japan

The main prize goes to a film honoring artists who do their own thing regardless of the money it could bring them. We know that we are not the only ones to threaten our planet but that the enemy can also come from outer-space. In order to foil that threat thanks to Japanese rock, to a Japanese female mathematician, to Indian rockets and to a very international crew of astronauts, we have decided to give an encouraging and definite tap on the shoulder to Fish Story.

Special mentions to:


Because of its humor, its tribute to fantastic films made since Melies in 1895 and because of its scaring qualities and because of the fact that it incites us to buy Swiss anti-insect sprays, the special award should go to Infestation.


Valentin Greutert (producer, Switzerland), Florian Keller (film critic, Switzerland) and Bettina Oberli (director, Switzerland) give the following award:

The Silver Melies for best European feature film to:

LEFT BANK by Pieter Van Hees, Belgium

The movie is about a young woman whose body has reached its limits but who continues her daily activities even if it puts her life in jeopardy. With a powerful atmosphere, Left Bank distinguishes itself by using in a singular way the codes of genre cinema: the fantastic and the occult are rooted in the social realism of a closed urban space. As a result, Pieter van Hees builds his own mythology of anxiety and sets it convincingly in the familiar context of his home town.

The film is automatically nominated for the Golden Melies, which will be awarded at the 42nd edition of the Festival Internacional de Cinema Fantastico de Catalunya, in Sitgès, in October 2009.



Fulvio Bernasconi (director, Switzerland), Pascal Gavillet (film critic, Switzerland) and Stephanie Guex (curator, Switzerland) give the following awards:

The H.R. Giger Award Narcisse for the best Swiss short film to:

LE PETIT DRAGON by Bruno Collet

The Taurus Studio Award to:

LE PETIT DRAGON by Bruno Collet
DEJA by Antonin Schopfer


The nomination for the Golden Méliès for best European short film goes to:

TILE M FOR MURDER by Magnus Holmgren, Sweden


The TSR Audience Award goes to:

CONNECTED by Benny Chan, Hong Kong/China

The Best Asian Movie Award goes to:

THE HANDSOME SUIT by Tsutomu Hanabusa, Japan

The Mad Movies Award for « le film le plus Mad» goes to:

LEFT BANK by Pieter Van Hees, Belgium

The Titra Film Award goes to:

ANTICHRIST by Lars Von Trier, Denmark/Poland/Germany/Sweden/Italy

The Denis-de-Rougemont Youth Award honors:

FISH STORY by Yoshihiro Nakamura, Japan

See you next year for the 10th Edition !

Leave a Reply